PSF Coffee MPIA    PSF Group

Hello and welcome to MPIA's Planet and Star Formation Coffee!

PSF Coffee is held every wednesday at 14:00 in MPIA's seminar room!
During the time of the construction work at MPIA end of 2018 and in 2019 we will often change the location, and rather convene in Seminarroom I of the Haus der Astronomie (HdA). Please always check the announcement emails!

For volunteering for slots, please contact Aida Ahmadi (ahmadi), Hendrik Linz (linz), or Markus Feldt (feldt)!


* PSF Coffee is started by an informal part. Short contributions (<= 3 slides) are allowed during this part. Such short contributions may be pre-announced or spontaneous.
* One talk per session is the default. Two talk slots are really reserved just for very exceptional circumstances.
* Talks should not exceed ~20 minutes leaving ample time for discussion.
* Talks should focus on a single result or work in progress and not contain too many slides.
* Discussion, also during talks, is strongly encouraged!
* Total PSF coffee time is at maximum 60 minutes!
* PSF Coffee never gets fully canceled, but in case of no announced talks, there will be no coffee provided...
* If you drink coffee or eat cookies and are not a PhD student or visitor, a small contribution to the PSF Snacks Trust Fund is kindly requested.

Upcoming events:

September 2019

4 Sep
Speaker: Michael Hammer, University of Arizona - "Generating Vortices with Slowly-growing Gas Giant Planets"
Chair: Paola Pinilla

11 Sep
Speaker: Faustine Cantalloube, MPIA Heidelberg - "How weather can affect ground-based observations in astronomy"

25 Sep
Speaker: Surangkhana Rukdee, CfA Harvard Smithonian - "TBD"

October 2019

09 Oct
Speaker: Siyi Feng, East-Asian Core Observatories Association - "What can chemistry tell us about the initial conditions and feedback of star formation"
Chair: Henrik Beuther

16 Oct
no PSF coffee, but last day of the PSF Group Retreat

23 Oct
Speaker: Ugo Lebreuilly, École normale supérieure de Lyon - "Gas and dust in protoplanetary disks (prelim.)"

30 Oct
Speaker: Matías Garate, LMU Munich - "Dust back-reaction can stop gas accretion at the snowline"
Chair: Mario Flock

November 2019

13 Nov
2nd day of Heidelberg-Harvard Meeting

20 Nov
Speaker: Benjamin Schobert, Uni Bayreuth - "The Impact of Accretion Heating and Thermal Conduction on the Dead Zone of Protoplanetary Disks"
Chair: Mario Flock

December 2019

4 Dez
Speaker: Joanna Drazkowska, LMU - "TBD"
Chair: Bertram Bitsch

January 2020

February 2020

5 Feb
Speaker: Myriam Benisty, Universidad de Chile & IPAG Grenoble - "TBD"
Chair: Paola Pinilla


This work is derived from Pawfaliki, licensed under a Creative Commons License