Hanno and Ruth Roelin Award for Science Journalism

This award is for scientists, science journalists and academic teachers who have been particularly successful in communicating new findings in astronomy and space research to a wider public through their publications/teaching activities.

Publications of all kinds in German language are permitted (print, radio, television, internet ...). Didactic achievements can also be awarded.

The prize committee consists of Sibylle Anderl, Thomas Janka and Markus Pössel (who is also the curator of the prize). The prize is awarded every two years by the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg. The prize money is 3000 euros.

Suggestions for the Roelin prize 2023 can be made until 31 May 2023. Please send them to Markus Pössel, either via e-mail to info@hda-hd.de or via mail at Haus der Astronomie, MPIA Campus, Königstuhl 17, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany.


A list of awardees since 2005 (in German language) can be found here:

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View