Dieter Rampacher Prize for Michael Maseda

September 28, 2016
The Max Planck Society (MPG) has awarded Michael Maseda the Dieter-Rampacher-Prize. Yearly, the MPG honors with this prize the youngest successful PhD-Student of the former year within the Max-Planck-Society (in this case of 2015).

Michael Maseda worked at the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy in Heidelberg (MPIA) until September 2015. In his doctoral thesis within the scope of the International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS-HD), he studied the evolution of galaxies by means of near infrared spectroscopy of particularly dwarf galaxies with active star formation in larger cosmological distances (with redshifts z >1). In autumn 2015, the prize-winner started to work as a postdoctoral fellow at Leiden University (Netherlands) within the framework of a NOVA fellowship.

The prize was donated by Hermann Rampacher, a supporting member of the Max Planck Society, in memory of his brother Dieter Rampacher, who was a physics student and who died in 1945 at the age of only 20 years.

Go to Editor View