Awards for MPIA researchers: Otto Hahn Medal for Paul Mollière. EPoS-Poster Award for Asmita Bhandare

June 27, 2018

Paul Mollière has been awarded the renowned Otto Hahn Medal by the Max Planck Society (MPG). The award at the annual meeting of the MPG in Heidelberg honored his comprehensive investigation of the structure of atmospheres of extrasolar planets and the analysis of their spectra. Asmita Bhandare received another award for her poster on star formation at the EPoS conference in Ringberg.

With the Otto Hahn Medal - named after the famous German chemist and Nobel Prize winner - the Max Planck Society (MPG) annually honors some of its outstanding young scientists. At the Annual Meeting of the MPG 2018 in Heidelberg, Paul Mollière was awarded as one of 10 scientists of the Chemical-Physical-Technical Section of the MPG.
Paul Mollière worked until autumn 2017 at the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (MPIA Heidelberg) in the Planet- and Star Formation department (PSF) headed by Director Thomas Henning. Then he moved to the Leiden Observatory (Netherlands). During his current postdoc position, he continues his work within the scope of his former dissertation in Heidelberg in the field of exoplanets and their atmospheres.

Another award went to PhD-student Asmita Bhandare, who also works in the MPIA PSF-Department. She received the prize for the best scientific poster ("First core properties: from low- to high-mass star formation", Bhandare, A.,  Kuiper, R., Henning, Th., Fendt, C., Marleau, G. D. and Kölligan, A.) at this year's EPoS conference at Ringberg Castle at Lake Tegernsee. EPoS stands for "The Early Phase of Star Formation" and is a renowned conference with international participants that has been taking place every two years since 2006.

Go to Editor View