Patzer Prize 2016

November 30, 2016
Last Friday, on November 25, 2016, the solemn ceremony of the Ernst-Patzer Prize for the promotion of young scientists was held in the auditorium of the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (MPIA). This year, the awards were given to Adriana Pohl, Sara Rezaeikhoshbakhat and Richard Teague.

The annually presented Ernst Patzer Prize was donated by the art-lover and philosopher Ernst Patzer and established by his widow. The Foundation awards its prizes to young researchers at MPIA and other institutes in Heidelberg and wishes to support research particularly in the field of astronomy. The Prizes are honouring the best publications produced in the course of doctoral studies or in the following first postdoc phase. The publications must have been published in a refereed journal.

This years Patzer Prize winners are:

  • Adriana Pohl (MPIA-Department Planet- and Star Formation and member of the Planet Formation Group at the Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics (ITA) of the Center for Astronomy of Heidelberg University (ZAH)) for her publication „Investigating dust trapping in transition disks with millimeter-wave polarization“ (Pohl et al.~2016, Astronomy & Astrophysics, 593, A12)
  • Sara Rezaeikhoshbakhat (MPIA-Department Galaxies and Cosmology) for her publication „Inferring the three-dimensional distribution of dust in the Galaxy with a non-parametric method (Rezai et al. 2016, Astronomy & Astrophysics in press)
  • Richard Teague (MPIA-Department Planet- and Star Formation) for his publication „Measuring Turbulence in TW Hya with ALMA: Methods and Limitations” (Teague et al. 2016, Astronomy & Astrophysics in press)

The selection committee consists of two scientists from MPIA and one additional external scientist from Heidelberg.

Webpage of the Patzer-Prize:

Go to Editor View