Awarding of the Ernst Patzer Prizes 2022

November 28, 2022

In 2022, three scientists were again awarded the Ernst Patzer Prize for the support of young scientists. The award ceremony took place on November 25 during the traditional ceremonial colloquium at the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (MPIA). The awardees are Jakob Isbell and Ekatarina Magg (both from MPIA), and Jaeyeon Kim (ITA/ZAH).

The Ernst Patzer Foundation awards its prizes annually to young scientists at the MPIA and other institutes in Heidelberg. The aim is to support research, especially in the field of astronomy.  The prizes are awarded to the best publications by scientists that were produced during their doctoral or first postdoc phase and that were also published in a renowned peer-reviewed journal. The Ernst Patzer Prize was endowed by the philosopher and art lover Ernst Patzer and established by his widow. The award is decided by a selection committee consisting of two members of the MPIA and one external member from Heidelberg institutes.

This year's award winners are:

  • Jakob Isbell of the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (MPIA) for his publication "The dusty heart of Circinus. I. Imaging the circumnuclear dust in N-band," 2022, Astronomy & Astrophysics, 663, A35.
  • Jaeyeon Kim of the Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (ITA) of the Center for Astronomy at Heidelberg University (ZAH) for her publication "Environmental dependence of the molecular cloud lifecycle in 54 main sequence galaxies," 2022, Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society 504, 487
  • Ekatarina Magg of the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (MPIA) for her publication "Observational constraints on the origin of the elements: IV. standard composition of the Sun," 2022, Astronomy & Astrophysics 661, A140


Go to Editor View