The scientific crew of the Flying Saucer

The scientific crew of the Flying Saucer

The Flying Saucer protoplanetary disk is studied by a large international consortium comprised of scientists from Europe, United States, and East Asia. The overall structure of the consortium and the division of scientific labors is presented in the following scheme:

Obs.Bordeaux & ASIAA: A. DUtrey (PI)/Paul Ho

Level 1

Data Reduction & Delivers
Y. Wen Tang (co-PI) / E. Chapillon

IRAM: E. Chapillon
Data Reduction & Archive
Distribution to EU

ASIAA: Y. W. Tang
Data Reduction & Archive Distribution to east-asia

RICE: A. Isella
Data Reduction & Archive
Distribution to NA
ESO: L. Testi
Image Processing
Level 2

Observational Interpretation
A. Isella (co-PI) / S. Guilloteau

Observational Model
Obs. Bordeaux:
S. Guilloteau

Line Radiative Transder & Thermal Structure NASA Ames:
U. Gorti
Simpel Dust Model
RICE University:
A. Isella
Multi- lambda
Obs. Strasbourg:
N. Grosso

Level 3

Comparison to Numerical Models, Young Solar Systems & exo-planet synthesis
Th. Henning / T. Guillot

Chemical Models:
D. Semenov
2D / 3D Dust structure & evolution
T. Birnstiel
Dynamics of Gas and Dust, Turbulence
Obs. Nice:
H. Meheut

Project coordinators:

Anne Dutrey (Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de Bordeaux, France)
Paul Ho (Academia Sinica, Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Taiwan)


Level 1: Data Reduction & Delivery

Edwige Chapillon (LAB, IRAM, France)
Andrea Isella (Rice University, Houston, TX, USA)
Vincent Piétu (Institut de Radio-Astronomie Millimétrique (IRAM), Grenoble, France)
Ya-Wen Tang (ASIAA, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
Leonardo Testi (ESO, Garching bei Muenchen, Germany)
Others: A. Dutrey, P. Ho, St. Guilloteau, Y. Boehler, P.Y. Hieh, M.Tazzari, F. Gueth, P. Gratier, A. Kospal 

Level 2: Observational Interpretation

Observational model:
Yann Boehler (Rice University, Houston, TX, USA)
Stephane Guilloteau (Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de Bordeaux, France)
Others: A. Isella, L. Testi, M. Tazzari, A. Dutrey, E. Di Folco, P.G. Du, J. Cuzzi, Y.-W. Tang 

Simple dust models:
Marco Tazzari (European Southern Observatory, Germany)
Sebastian Wolf (Kiel University, Germany)

Multi-wavelength observations:
Nicolas Grosso (Observatoire Astronomique de Strasbourg, France)
Michihiro Takami (Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Academia Sinica Taiwan)
Karl Stapelfeldt (Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech, USA)
Others: S. Wolf, D. Padgett, M. Takami, E. Di Folco 

Line radiative transfer models:
Uma Gorti (SETI Institute, Mountin View, USA)
Richard Teague (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg, Germany)
Others: I. Cleeves, Y. Pavlyuchenkov, St. Guilloteau, A. Dutrey, A. Isella, S.Y. Liu, A. Kospal 

Level 3: Theoretical models

Disk turbulence and hydrodynamics:
Héloïse Méheut (Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur, France)
Others: St. Guilloteau, A. Dutrey, R. Teague, J. Cuzzi, H. Meheut, S. Fromang, U. Gorti, Th. Henning, F. Hersant, A.Pierens, M.Bate, S.Fromang, W.K.Lee 

Disk dust evolution:
Tilman Birnstiel (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg, Germany)
Akimasa Kataoka (Heidelberg University, Germany)
Satoshi Okuzumi (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Others: C. Dullemond, Ch. Ormel, T. Guillot, Th. Henning, S.Ida 

Disk chemistry evolution:

Yuri Aikawa (Center for Computational Sciences, University of Tsukuba, Japan)
Edwin Bergin (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA)
Ilse Cleeves (CfA, USA)
Pierre Gratier (Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de Bordeaux, France)
Frank Hersant (Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de Bordeaux, France)
Liton Majumdar (Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de Bordeaux, France)
Dmitry Semenov (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg, Germany)
Valentine Wakelam (Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de Bordeaux, France)
Karen Willacy (NASA/JPL, USA)
Others: D. Wiebe, A. Vasyunin 

Link to solar system and exoplanet synthesis:
Aurélien Crida (Lagrange (UCA/OCA), IUF, France)
Tristan Guillot (Lagrange (UCA/OCA), IUF, France)
Thomas Henning (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg, Germany)
Christoph Mordasini (Physics Institute, University of Bern, Switzerland)
Others: H.Meheut, A. Morbidelli, M. Bate, K. Willacy, S. Ida, S. Okuzumi

Go to Editor View