Scientific Advisory Board (Fachbeirat)

Each institute of the Max Planck Society has a Scientific Advisory Board (Fachbeirat). The Board conducts regular evaluations of the institute's scientific work. It advises both the institute and the president of the Max Planck Society as to the institute's future development and ressearch strategy. Board members are scientists of international renown, both from Germany and abroad, who are in most cases not affiliated in any way with the Max Planck Society or involved in major institute projects.

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy are:

  • Prof. Dr. Edwin Bergin (University of Michigan, Department of Astronomy)
  • Prof. Dr. Kenneth Freeman (Australian National University, College of Physical & Mathematical Sciences)
  • Prof. Dr. Andrea Ghez (University of California, Physics and Astronomy Department)
  • Prof. Dr. Rolf-Peter Kudritzki (Chair) (University of Hawaii, Institute for Astronomy)
  • Prof. Dr. Christopher McKee (University of California, Department of Astronomy)
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), Institut für Planetenforschung)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Schneider (Universität Bonn, Argelander-Institut für Astronomie)
  • Prof. Dr. Ian Smail (Durham University, Department of Physics)
  • Prof. Dr. Meg Urry (Yale University, Department of Physics)
Go to Editor View